Home > Sustainability and Society > Responsible Care

Basic Concept of Responsible Care

Responsible Care® is a voluntary initiative of the global chemical industry in view of the specific development conditions of the industry, which is a management system that serves to continuously improve the health, safety and environmental performance. The basic notion: in the process of production, chemical products manufacturers are responsible for the health and safety of both their own staff and the adjacent communities and the mass, and for protecting the public environment. They should not incur any damage to the employees, the public or the environment due to their own conducts.

History of Responsible Care

After World War II, the chemical industry in the western countries was developed in a way that favored economic benefits at the cost of safety and environmental protection. Chemical catastrophes and events in which agitated habitants around the factories sought for self rescue emerged one after another; complaints were heard everywhere. Chemical manufacturers from different countries were urgently looking for a way out.

In 1984, Canadian Chemical Producers Association (CCPA) took the lead in launching the Responsible Care, who resolved the crisis and won more commercial opportunities as well.

In 1988, The Chemical Manufacturers Association of USA (CMA) officially carried out the Responsible Care regulations.

In 1990, Association of International Chemical Manufacture (AICM) was created by USA, Canada, Japan and some European countries.

In 1991, AICM formulated the essential articles of Responsible Care.

In 2007, China Petroleum and Chemical Industry Association launched the campaign for promoting "Responsible Care" in Beijing on behalf of China Petroleum and Chemical Industry.

Substance of Responsible Care

It represents a harmonious cooperative relationship between chemical enterprises and the surrounding public and communities. Enterprises have to change their ways of responding to the ideas or suggestions from the communities or the public from passive to active, or they should take voluntary actions.

Responsible Care should be implemented as a whole system in the entire company, and it is an autonomous activity under sustained improvement. It is rather the implement of a concept, than an independent or brand new plan of safety, health and environmental protection that is imposed on the existing system. As far as morality is concerned, all committed companies have a principle, that is, the safety and health of employees are above all; in addition, they also take activity in the work of environmental protection. As far as management is concerned, the concept of “Responsible Care" should also be carried out throughout management, so as to lower the risk level of chemical industry to the minimum.

Efforts of Yantai Wanhua in “Responsible Care"

Yantai Wanhua, as a member of International Isocyanate Institute, actively participates in the communication with the Institute, and performs Responsible Care.

  • 1. In September 2005, Yantai Wanhua signed World Safety Declaration in Orlando, USA, and became the first company in China that signed such a declaration. Yantai Wanhua commits to the world for safety and health.
  • 2. In 2007, Yantai Wanhua was selected by China Petroleum & Chemical Industry Association as one of the first “Responsible Care experimental enterprises" and became a model enterprise of Responsible Care in China petroleum and chemical industry.
  • 3. Yantai Wanhua offers overall safety training to all contractors, and shares safety management experience with them for a long-term win-win partnership.
  • 4. Yantai Wanhua strictly selects carriers with national safety qualification. Yantai Wanhua regularly trains drivers on safety, maps out emergency proposals together with carriers, and equips transportation vehicles with emergency equipment to minimize transportation accidents.
  • 5. Yantai Wanhua owns an experienced sales team to provide customers with presales, sales, and after-sales services. All the products are attached with MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheet). Yantai Wanhua regularly holds business meetings to communicate with customers about Responsible Care, and answers customers'questions.
  • 6. According to customers'requirements, Yantai Wanhua offers free support and training for health, safety and environmental protection.

首页 > 可持续发展 > 责任关怀

责任关怀的基本定义

责任关怀(Responsible Care®),是化工行业针对自身的发展情况提出的一套自律性的,持续改进环保、健康和安全绩效的管理体系。它的基本含义是:化学品制造企业在生产过程中,有责任关注本企业员工、附近社区及公众的健康与安全,有责任保护公共环境,不应因自身的行为使员工、公众和环境受到损害。

责任关怀制度的由来

二战后,西方各国的化学工业发展偏重经济利益而忽略了安全与环保。化学大灾难不断发生,居民围厂自救事件层出不穷,怨声载道。各国化学品制造商纷纷寻求解决良计。

  • 1984年,加拿大化学品制造协会率先推广责任关怀制度,化解了危机并赢得更多商机。
  • 1988年,美国化学品制造协会(CMA)正式推行责任关怀制度。
  • 1990年,美国、加拿大、日本及欧洲等国成立国际化学品制造协会。
  • 1991年,国际化学品制造协会制定责任关怀制度执行要点。
  • 2007年,中国石油和化学工业协会发起的中国石油和化工行业推进"责任关怀"行动在北京正式启动。

责任关怀的实质

化工企业与周围社区公众之间的一种和谐的合作关系。在回应社区和公众提出的意见或建议方面,企业要由原来的被动行为变成主动行为,或者完全是自愿的行为。

责任关怀是由上至下、全公司整体性地推行制度,是持续改善的自主活动。是一种理念的实施,不是一个独立的、全新的安全卫生环保计划加诸于现有制度上。从道德准则来讲,所有承诺"责任关怀"的公司都有一个宗旨,就是员工的安全和健康是第一位的,并且要积极主动做好环境管理。从管理方面讲,"责任关怀"理念也贯穿其中,确保化学工业能够达到最低的风险水平。

万华在责任关怀方面的努力

作为国际异氰酸酯协会(International Isocyanate Institute)的成员单位,烟台万华积极参与协会交流,以同行业的最高标准规范要求自己,模范地践行责任关怀的原则和行为准则。

  1. 2005年9月,烟台万华在美国奥兰多签署世界安全宣言,成为中国第一家签署此宣言的企业,烟台万华给世界一个安全与健康的承诺。
  2. 2007年,烟台万华被中国石油和化工工业协会评选为国内首批“责任关怀试点企业”,成为中国石化行业责任关怀的典范。
  3. 烟台万华对所有的承包商进行全面的安全培训,并将安全管理经验与承包商分享,使承包商的安全绩效不断提高,从而与承包商建立起长久的合作关系,最终实现互利双赢。
  4. 烟台万华承运商的选择非常的严格,所有承运商必须有国家安全资质。同时烟台万华定期对司机进行相关安全知识培训,和承运商一起制定运输应急预案,为运输车辆配备应急器材,减少、防止产品运输事故。
  5. 烟台万华拥有经验丰富的销售队伍,为客户提供全方位的售前、售中、售后服务,产品配套有完备的产品安全技术说明书(MSDS),并定期通过举办洽谈会向顾客传达产品责任关怀方面的信息,解答客户的疑难。
  6. 烟台万华根据客户需要,为客户提供健康、安全与环境保护方面的支持与培训。